A modern day hermit, Christopher Knight

I can get lost online. I read from politics to polyphonic. Just read. In one such raid I came across this particular article done by MICHAEL FINKEL, a contributing author for GQ (yes, Gentleman Quarterly) and is also has authored the book True Story.

The story fascinated me. It was about 20 pages (MS word) long and has a mix of interview blurbs, author comments, and feed back from others.

In Short, Christopher Knight aka Hermit of Maine. Knight has disappeared in to the woods when he was 20 years old (1986) and chose to continue to live in the woods, with no human contact ever. Except, Yes except he wanted the food that was sold in shelves instead of food that run wild in the woods. He stole food in dead of night from houses that were closed and non of the residents were in. He also needed food for thought so he stole books, magazines (from National Geographic to PlayBoy) and listen to Radio (from conservative talk shows to classic rock). But no he did not want to COMMUNICATE with any human being at all.

His stay in the woods seems quite fun, at least during summer and spring. Staring at the stars, listen to silent nights, living in a camouflaged tent, no one telling him to brush his teeth. But the winter was hard. He had to stay up from 2 am(because that is when it becomes really cold) and keep himself dry all the time.

He was asked why he did what he did? Why did he become a “Hermit”. To which he did not answer willingly, at first and getting more annoyed each time the author pose the same question. However he did answer it, on their last encounter

But during our final visit, he was more reflective. Isn’t everybody, he said, seeking the same thing in life? Aren’t we all looking for contentment? He was never happy in his youth—not in high school, not with a job, not being around other people. Then he discovered his camp in the woods. “I found a place where I was content,” he said. His own perfect spot. The only place in the world he felt at peace.

However I do not think he is a hermit in the true sense of the word. I would call someone a hermit if they did not interact nor consumed anything from the civilized world. Just staying in a wood, reflecting on life, surviving on the fruits of the wild, living in complete solitude. Perhaps that is a hardcore hermit and Knight was a some percentage of a hermit?

Knight was caught by one of the victims in 2013 and then he was put in jail. Things began to change for him (obviously) people started asking him questions but he agreed to tell his story only to the author of this article.

Read the full article here

I loved it, you may too. So give it go.

My favourite quotes from Christopher Knight

“When I came out of the woods they applied the label hermit to me. Strange idea to me. I had never thought of myself as a hermit. Then I got worried. For I knew with the label hermit comes the idea of crazy. See the ugly little joke.”

Even worse, he feared his time in jail would only prove correct those who doubted his sanity. “I suspect,” he wrote, “more damage has been done to my sanity in jail, in months; than years, decades, in the woods.”

“I’m not used to seeing people’s faces,” he said. “There’s too much information there. Aren’t you aware of it? Too much, too fast.”

“Sitting here in jail, I don’t like what I see in the society I’m about to enter. I don’t think I’m going to fit in. It’s too loud. Too colorful. The lack of aesthetics. The crudeness. The inanities. The trivia.”

One thought on “A modern day hermit, Christopher Knight

Leave a Reply

