Language..why another?

I am bilingual. With Sinhalese and English. Yes able to carry out a conversation and read, write understand. But from a long time I always wanted to learn Tamil. Lets not comment on that dragging whole of Sri Lanka, but how many friends of mine uses the language. I for a fact do not see people as per their race, culture or religion but see them as humans. And some of them continue to talk in Tamil when they meet as it is the most preferred and most comfortable language by them. I with my mouth open, looking stupid look at them trying to grab what they are talking about. Once in a while I put in phrases like “enna kadtha?” They look at me. Ask me something that I have no idea of and continue with what ever they talk.

I decided to learn Tamil. Looked for some classes. Asked a few friends. But none seems to be quite what I expect. Still looking for with fingers crossed.

But why Tamil? What will I gain? Do I have plans to apply for a government job? For the last question my answer would be, no I don’t think so. Not according to my plans, which has anything to do with government. Then why? This is the most common question people I know and don’t ask me when I state that I want to learn tamil. The answer. There is no apparent reason really. But the satisfaction that I know another language. Tamil being the second used language after Sinhalese, I might and I do have people to talk with.

Besides language is just a media to project your thoughts. And we use a language that is known to the other party so he/she visualize and get it into their heads. And if I am able to use a media that they understand, life is much easier. To me and to them.

Its not a strong argument to convince someone. But that was enough to convince me to learn Tamil.

Not only Tamil I would like to learn more languages. Lets start with something that is more feasible at the moment. There is a Korean class near my office may be its the next stop for me.

11 thoughts on “Language..why another?

  1. Yeah dude… learning languages is a good thing and gives you a greater scope. I know exactly what you mean about people talking entirely in Tamil. Its like “blah blah blah… shape scene…. blah blah blah blah”. No one bothers to translate.

    If you want to learn Tamil… then just go ahead and do it. Who cares what everyone else thinks… besides you can slight them in Tamil afterward.

    Also people always appreciate it when you speak to them in their native tongue. Its also a sign of respect in some countries… especially France.

  2. @ sigma yes we all should

    @ foxhound
    the thing is they must be feeling the same way when we jabber in Sinhalese… :D, yeah must learn Tamil and be involved and true who cares what other says. Looking for a class though couldn’t find something solid. And tried learning from friends and i fear they seems to be teaching me not exactly the proper language.

    Yes everyone would prefer that the other person talks to them in a language they know. And its always respected to be the other person. Good point.

  3. I learnt a bit of tamil during 5th grade, while studying for the scholarship exams.

    Since both Sinhala and Tamil are phonetic languages, once you learn the alphabet it’s pretty easy going when it comes to writing and reading. It’s the understanding that gets me for now.

    Please do let us know if you find a good class. The best results would be if you work with people you can talk in Tamil with, since that would help you work out the accent as well.

  4. yeah I too have actually. In grade 9 which was unsuccessful. But do remember few letters here and there.
    Sure will do. Will post here if I find something…

  5. Glad to find another person who promotes bilingual life. Me too! I am a big fun of bilingual education, bilingual parenting, and bilingual life as you are. Right now I am teaching my baby to learn Chinese, hoping she will become a bilingual in the future.

    Can we exchange link? My reciprocal link goes like this:

    Best4Future Blog: Bringing up baby bilingual!
    Devoted to bilingual learning, parenting and teaching!

  6. yeah. as srilankans, we should know tamil also. im from upcountry and i actually know tamil is a must when working with people. if not we cant undersand what others talk to each other when shopping or etc. if we know sinhala+tamil we could travel around the whole country (colombo-07 excluded).
    wish u to succeed in tamil.

Leave a Reply

